Are you afraid of your emotions/ feelings?

Hi friends! I want to talk to you about emotions. Me personally, I used to define happiness with being able to block all negative emotions. I felt I was supposed to feel happy and positive all the time. And when I didn’t, I would beat myself up for being angry or sad . I also made a habit of hiding my feelings. And that turned out to be the worst thing I could do. I ended up having all these bottled up emotions burning inside ready to burst!

flame-1486648_640

And when I didn’t release them, I eventually turned to this!๐Ÿ‘‡

giphy (1)

Yeah, I know!๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜‚ So, if you want to go back to your happy place, feel them and release! True happiness is being able to acknowledge you have feelings and knowing how to handle them. Let’s face it, emotions are a natural instinct, and they aren’t going anywhere! ย So the best thing to do is learn how to live them and not let them live you. How do you do that you ask? Well, the first step is to stop fearing them. Emotions are not monsters. Despite the fact that emotions can be quite strong and over taking, they aren’t to be feared. And if you do fear emotions, the only way to conquer a fear is to face it right? So let’s make a chart below to take a closer look at emotions๐Ÿ‘‡

Happy/ excited-๐Ÿ˜† This is my favorite one. This emotion is the one we should have as our default. Anything else is an extra chosen emotion for a specific occasion. Why? Because Our creator wanted us to be happy! ย I’m sure a lot of you can vouch for this one. Rarely do we have a problem with expressing this one. This one just feel right doesn’t it? When we can’t feel this one, we feel tormented. ย And unfortunately, this emotion often get interrupted by the less fun ones.

Mad/ angry-๐Ÿ˜ This is one of my least favorite ones. This is one of the emotions I’ve tried to hide. I would tell myself that happy people aren’t supposed to get angry! But ummm……yes they do. It’s about how happy people handle their anger. When you feel angry, go ahead and acknowledge it. Allow yourself to feel it. This emotion must not be bottled up. Allow it to pass through you. Say to yourself and others, yes I am angry. Yes! I’m angry! Now step back and ask yourself why am I angry. Breath and take a moment to meditate on why you feel this way. And be completely honest with yourself. And now that you know why you are angry, the next step is to make a rational choice on how to resolve this emotion and let it pass. Is there someone you need to confront about how you feel. If so, it’s better to go ahead and talk it out. If not, your resentment will continue to grow towards that person eating you up inside. Or, perhaps you’re mad at yourself or something dissapointed you. Either way, it has to be released! So I suggest you find a healthy way to release the anger. It could be punching a pillow, screaming into a pillow, dancing, singing, listening to music and so on. Whatever activity that allow you to peacefully vent. Meaning without harming yourself or others. ย You’ll notice that when you acknowledge it and let it freely pass through, you’ll start to notice yourself eventually feel better.

Sad-๐Ÿ˜ซ I hate this one too. But, hey, I’m human and I get sad. So, I might as well say it. Yes. I’m sad! I’m sad!! But why? If someone hurt my feelings, I should let them know. If I’m sad about a situation, I should think of ways it could be rationally resolved. If I’m not sure how to resolve it, then I’ll pray on it and hand the bag over to God. If I’m sad because someone died, I’ll be easy on myself and acknowledge that something like that takes time. And it’s okay to grieve. Did you know having a pity party can be helpful? I sometimes would cry and listen to sad music and allow myself to melt! Lol. But, eventually I would get tired and bored of the sad music, and I would eventually find myself dancing to happy music. But I felt much better after my pity party!

Fear/Nervous

Fear is not fun and is a strong emotion. This one has tormented me many of days. But, did you know a lot of time fear is caused by our own imagination? ย But despite the fact, feel it! Say I’m afraid. I’m afraid! Now ask why? Are you letting negative energy lie to you?ย 

demon-161049_640

If so, tell them to shut up! They sound silly! If you’re finding yourself predicting the future like a fortune teller, and then causing yourself to get more and more anxious afterward, stop it silly! A lot of time we are only scaring ourself; not outside influences. But, if you do have a legit fear, don’t fight it. Let it pass through. Fear is a strong emotion that you should hand over to God. Sometimes you need the answers or intervention from a higher power. God will help you release it.

Love– ๐Ÿ˜˜ Don’t ignore this one! This should be on default too. ย We all and I mean all need to feel and express love. We all deserve love too. ย Yes, even people we consider evil have the desire to love. Why? Because God made us loving in nature. We are made in his image. That’s why when we feel unloved, it torments us. Allow yourself to love. Don’t let the emotion of fear stop you. Go ahead and admit it. I want love and I want to be loved! It’s okay to say it. God made us that way. If you didn’t want to love, that would be quite terrifying! If you’re not ready to love a person, love an animal. Dog, cat, fish, etc. We were made to love. When you’re able to express the emotion of love freely, it feels so good. Why do you think that when you’re in a new romantic relationship, you feel on top of the world. Since it’s new, you don’t have all that guilt and resentment blocking your flow of love like you do in an old relationship. Heck! If you don’t like animals, love plants and flowers. Nurture and water them in your home! Just please, love. Lack of love is what causes some to turn ” evil”. And of course, your higher power loves you regardless.

You will find that being honest to yourself and others will set you free. Emotions are a gift. It’s made to help your spirit vent. ย Yes, it’s a rollercoaster, but you have to admit that it makes life quite interesting. And it helps remind us that we are only human indeed. That’s why you have to stop being hard on yourself. Use the emotions the way they should be used, then let them go. Stop putting everything in bags you pack rat!!!!!!!๐Ÿ˜† I hope you guys found this article helpful. ๐Ÿ˜Š

love-1271694_640

Love conquers all emotions!

Betcha didn’t know!๐Ÿ’—

ย You might also like๐Ÿ‘‡

Itโ€™s that time of year again! Your Brain needs spring cleaning!

https://betchadidntknowthis.wordpress.com/2017/03/05/its-that-time-of-year-again-your-brain-needs-spring-cleaning/

 

Photo credit: pixabay. com

Giphy.com

http://wifflegif.com/

I do not own photos, but I do own articles!

18 thoughts on “Are you afraid of your emotions/ feelings?

  1. Yes the old feelings chapter. Ahhh. They can be a good thing or bad thing depends on how you look at them. I’ve been told I was to direct. Okay, well if you don’t want your actions to be addressed then stay away. But seriously, you have to express yourself or it will take toll on your health. Happy Women’s Day to All!๐Ÿ’

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to hold grudges, now I tell ppl how it is, I was bullied in school and my ex boyfriends mom told him I couldn’t get a certain job or gtaduate high school. Now if ppl tell me I can’t or shouldn’t do something I ignore them and prove them wrong

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Delightful post! I myself have always let my feelings out, good or bad, happy or sad and any other emotion that comes along. However I must say that I have lost some friends along that path and have been told that I am too blunt and intimadating but I always tell the truth. The only thing I hold back on is when I am ill, I just posted for the first time my three time battle with Cancer over the past 30 odd years and it wasn’t easy to do. I wonder why that is?
    Enough about that. Today is Woman’s day and I wish you a happy day today. Loved the post. โ˜บโ™ฅ

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m glad you speak your mind. Those same people who tell you to keep silent are suffering because there’s something they want to say, but won’t say it! And congratulations on being a cancer survivor! Perhaps maybe you don’t like to talk about it is because it manifest negative emotions in you. Not regular negative emotions we feel day to day, but it’s something that is close to your heart. Perhaps it also manifest negative emotions in your family and friends. So it’s one of those things that that you feel is left better unsaid for the betterment of everyone’s emotions. Just a thought.๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’—.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

