The Floor is Lava

Chaotic Dreams

the_floor_is_lava_by_dhstyle-d4kexgjThe floor is lava. It has been a long time since my floor became lava. I was beginning to think it had forgotten the art. Today, however, I was pleasantly surprised. My playmate returned. Funny. I cannot recall when was the last time I jumped around on the armrests and backs of the sofa sets and all the other furniture while the red hot lava bubbled underneath.

It felt refreshing to see the floor the lava my lava was exactly how it used to be. I had stopped believing in my lava-it had been so long since I played this game. My little cousin visited me. It was her call that the lava answered. That my lava answered.  I admit, I was just the tiny bit hurt, but I welcomed it all the same.

I suppose the lava answers only little kids-young believers. Today, I saw it appear again. Somewhere between…

View original post 276 more words

6 thoughts on “The Floor is Lava

  1. This is one of those timeless classics that everyone played growing up; a lot of the times, I’d meet friends at a nearby park to play “Lava Monster” on the playground. A little different than the traditional game: you weren’t allowed to touch the ground, so you had to stay on the equipment, and one person- the lava monster- would try to touch you or throw a ball at you to get you out. Thinking about the games we came up with when we were little make me crack up.

    Also, I recently nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award; I’ll leave the link to my post here if you want to check it out: https://jakejournal.wordpress.com/2017/02/04/blogger-recognition-award/. Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. You’re welcome, I’ve always enjoyed the uniqueness of your blog and how you aren’t afraid to share your opinions or viewpoints on certain topics, that’s often an important aspect of writing.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

