Should Your Significant Other Have a Friend of the Opposite Sex?

Hey! The question I have will have no right or wrong answer; and definitely no two people will answer the same. So, my question is, should your significant other or spouse have a friend of the opposite sex? I personally don’t like the idea of it. Yes, it’s not that big of a deal if you have a trusting relationship, but, still there will be that small thought in the back of your head. Now if they knew each other before we met, who am I to tell my husband to lose is female friend. But, if he met a female friend afterwards, I would be uncomfortable. I’ve often heard about the friend having a secret crush on the husband or wife, and it’s revealed later. What if your spouse start to have feelings for them that will surface. What if they find something in that friend that they can’t find from you? Lot’s of times the friend could be like a sister or brother to them, but still. And, what if that friend becomes jealous of you and try to secretly destroy the relationship? There is so many diffrent things that can result from that friendship. I say that you should be friend enough. If they need advice or friendship from the opposite sex, I say they should stick to family members. You can never tell if that “friend” ย has true good intentions. Also, I think it gives a potential door to relationship problems. Jealousy can develop especially if you feel like your mate is hanging around them too much. But, that’s just how I feel about it. ๐Ÿ˜†

Don’t let your relationship
Float away, be
Specific! ๐Ÿ˜ฉ

Betcha didn’t know! ๐Ÿ˜‡

Picture from pixabay.com

I do not own photo!

40 thoughts on “Should Your Significant Other Have a Friend of the Opposite Sex?

  1. To each their own. My husband and I have cut off friends of the opposite sex. Whether they were childhood friends, former lovers, or whatever else they could be, there’s no need for them now. We fulfill each other’s every need – friendship included. But to be honest, my husband and I have some very intriguing pasts, so it’s better left behind us. ๐Ÿ˜‡

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmm… you’re right, no correct or incorrect answers.

    I still have male friends, a lot of them! And I’m close to some of them. In fact, I’m friends with almost all my exes (ex-boyfriends/ex-lovers). But I know me (I’m not a cheat, trust me! And I don’t have that problem that Mila Kunis’ character’s husband in Bad Moms has) and I can handle it. Lol! It’s my “awfully amiable” personality. I don’t hide that from hubby. He has to disclose his, and he has no FB for the best, based on historical crimes committed a couple or so times. Lol! So, he can’t have female friends except for mine and definitely no online “friendships”. He can be friends with his old female friends from high school (especially those married to his friends – small town story, but he got out) except they’re all gone now, guy friends included. Maybe it’s me! Haha.

    But, NO new opposite sex friends for both! I haven’t made friends with any guy I met after we got together. We are each other’s friends. ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Whatever works be attentive still. I had “lost” girl friends who liked my boyfriends before… I eventually forgive but the friendships can’t seem to go back to what they were, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Some people have better friendships with the opposite gender. If there is nothing wrong in the relationship then a friend is never going to tempt the partner away. However some people try to protect their relationships by closing off their partner’s escape routes instead of working on their relationships. Feeling insecure is not the fault of either of the partners but once you start laying down laws you’ve already lost. Work on the relationship!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Personally, I think one cannot blatantly prohibit their partner from having other friends, albeit be they of the opposite sex. For me I guess the issue would come up depending on how “close” they are. For instance, your partner has 5 friends that are female, but he always talks about 1, is there for her more than usual, does more things for her than he does for you (in some instances)….THEN I would take issue as it smells fishy. Other than that, I may not like it, but I don’t have the right to prohibit.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. If a partner singled out one, I would definitely be concerned. Even though I don’t have the right to stop them, I would at least hope they would respect how I feel about it, then take action accordingly. Your answer hit the nail right on the head!๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ‘

      Liked by 1 person

  5. No I don’t believe in having friends of the opposite sex for either on.. because we have to cautious who we allow ourselves to even to about our relationship.. ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think Communication is key and Trust. Partners need to communicate like they need water, its vital. Communication opens the door for transparency, honesty. Speaking for my self, nothing or no one could ever take the place of the Woman I love. No one can give me what she can, simply because I don’t want it from anyone else. Why? It’s not right for me only she is. What about the lack of trust that will cause hurt and frustration? I would not feel comfortable making friends of the opposite/same sex/gender after establishing a partnership, neither would I feel comfortable with her doing that. This topic deserves a more in depth discussion.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is a tough one. My Ex has many female friends that he claims were just friends – it was a source of constant arguments, among other things. I just don’t think it is a good thing, even if the trust is there.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’ve had friends of the opposite sex for decades. I would be completely weirded out and resentful if my husband or significant other said I couldn’t stay friends with my friends. But it helps that he’s friends with most of my guy friends too.

    I’ve been friends with the opposite sex for so long that I don’t automatically think of sex or romance when it comes to male/female relationships. I think of friendship. I don’t feel the need to define it as a brother/sister thing either.

    Plus, I think context also makes a difference. I usually see my guy friends in group situations. There isn’t one specific guy friend whom I spend extra time. In other words, I don’t get together with them in ways that could be considered a date. But I also wouldn’t object to doing something with one of them if there was a situation that came up where it was just two of us. If he hit on me, then that would be different though. I’d avoid alone time with a guy who made unwanted advances. I usually make it pretty clear that I’m not available.

    It does depend on the couple though. And clear boundaries in relationships, so friends know they’re friends not something else.

    Liked by 4 people

Leave a Reply

