Season for Giving?

I was listening to the news this morning and they spoke about a family who’s layaway was paid for by a complete stranger. They said that the person spent over a thousand dollars on their gifts. My heart felt so joyous until the news reporter said ,”This is the season for giving.” I then became angry and inspired to write. Why does the media want to convince us that there’s a “season” to give? During Thanksgiving I was disgusted because the food banks were begging people to bring turkeys and food so the less fortunate could eat a good meal. Now, the news is begging people to donate gifts to the poor. Why? Because this is the “season” for giving😭! In other words, when the holidays are over, we can go back to forgetting the less fortunate and calling them lazy bums. Does anybody else find this disturbing?  This is a list of things people need year round:

  • Food
  • Clothing
  • Shelter
  • Job

Those are the most basic necessities a human being needs. Not just on Christmas or Thanksgiving. I wish the news would promote helping those in need everyday. I also wish the news would promote toy drives year round. The promotion of seasonal giving is horrible. Why can’t us individuals have a heart for someone everyday? I know, I get it, homeless people are homeless because they are lazy. Right? Why don’t they just get a job? Last time I checked, jobs are scarce. Well, why are they on drugs or drinking? Because when you feel like your whole world around you have collapsed, you look for an escape from reality. If most of you lost your house, home, job, and everything, don’t try to convince me that it wouldn’t drive a lot of you to drink and do drugs! Some of you do that and you’re not even homeless! Why? Because you’re so depressed about your “issues”! Why isn’t someone allowed to be depressed unless they are not homeless? A lot of people that you walk pass and call a bum gave up on life. That’s why they are sleep on the sidewalk during your lunch break. Resources for the homeless is scarce and shelters are overcrowded. Did you know  that their are tons of homeless families with children? Don’t just give once or twice a year. Bless someone year round. Karma is real. Most of us is just one or two paychecks away from a problem. But, I know, it’s not a reality until it happens to you😒.

Simply having the basic necessities in life is a  Fortune! 😀

 

Betcha didn’t know!😄

 

Photo Credits: pixabay- I do not own photos.

24 thoughts on “Season for Giving?

  1. I totally agree with your post.
    In a somewhat similar line, or you may think I may be out of sync, but to me there is similarity.
    What is the hype and fuss about Valentines day? Should you not show your love and appreciation and tell your partner/ spouse that you love them everyday. Why single out one day in a YEAR to say it. To me that is so sad if you need to be reminded, the same as mentioned above to show kindness to others once or twice a year.
    Merry Christmas to one and all.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. In theory, you are correct. I agree that giving should not be limited to any given time of the year.

    On the flip side, I know there is no way, to get around it but there are also opportunists that prey on the sympathetic to make a living. For some it is an art, an occupation. This one panhandler bragged to my husband that he made more money one day on the street corner than he would all week at a job.

    My mother generously helped a woman once and gave her money, food and many items. This woman turns out to have been a scam artist. Our church helped a family one year, two families who came and implored that they were needy. Our congregation supplied them with food, clothing and shelter. We later learned that they had made a living doing this around the country. Never working a day in their life other than the roles they portrayed. It was so disappointing.

    I had a coworker that some viewed as racist, but when someone of any color came into the clinic with a pitiful story she always reached into her purse and gave them money. Most often everything she had at the time. On one occasion she took them shopping.

    I asked her, “Why? they could be scamming you.”

    Her reply? “I know, but…that’s between them and God. I did what God would want me to do, it’s the right thing.”

    Judging and not giving has a great deal to do with personal experience.

    My husband seldom gives cash, but he’s helped out with food or in one case furniture.
    I have dollar bills next to me in the car, ready to give when I can. I have adopted the view my coworker had. Do what I can and leave the judging to God.
    Thanks for the post.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s really sad how some people abuse people kindness. What’s even worse is that scammers are ruining things for those who really do need the help. So many people are skeptical because of cases like those. But, I agree with your co-worker that it’s between them and God. In the end karma will be in your favor and God will bless you for your efforts. For those people who play off of people kindness will get their karma just the same😒. Thanks for sharing😊!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Very powerful! I’m with you; I’ve never liked the whole “season for giving” thing either. Must we only show compassion and be willing to help others over the holidays, then ignore everyone around us for the rest of the year? Glad I’m not the only one who thinks this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

