Betcha! Will I Loose Readers If I Monetize? Discover Why You Shouldn’t Care

Hey neighbors!

I want to continue on with the subject of monetization. This post will be a little long, so if you need to read half now, and then the other half later, please do!๐Ÿ˜„ Monetization can be a great opportunity for extra income or a full fledge career. But again, there is a down side to most good things. There is a lot of bloggers that have expressed their concern about people becoming angry about them monetizing their blog. And I think ย the whole thing is sad and unfortunate. But, as your blog journey continue, your readership will start to filter. It’s like in your own personal life. A lot of us has had those situations in life where there is tragedy or new accomplishments . Regardless of which one it is, we desire our friends to be there to support us in our new life events. like for example when we have good news, we expect our friends to congratulate us and cheer us on. But then you’ll notice 1 or 2 friends might start to appear jealous. So instead of cheering you on, they start to discourage you, question your choices, and start to back away. Some friends are even blunt enough to straight out say, “You think you’re better than us now!” Then you’re left feeling sad and confused picturing all the times you were there for them. You thought they were your friend, but they weren’t. But it’s funny how they were close by when they needed something from you. If any of this sound familiar to you, then apply it to your readership. The people you thought were loyal readers disappeared when you simply wanted your blog to progress. That’s because You have different 3 different categories of readers.

Passersby readers- This is people who just so happen to stumble upon your blog. It could have been through Google search results, social media, or WordPress. These readers have no desire for commitment. They just read however many post and move on. But, they might show up again one day depending on need or experience. They don’t really care that much if you Monetize or not. They are there to get quick information and move on.ย 

Spam Reader- Yes, this term I made up, (I think๐Ÿ˜•) because that’s what I think they are. Spam is considered electronic junk mail, irrelevant information, and unsolicited material. Either way, spam is a waste of time, annoying, cause problems, and serves no real value. To me, a reader who comes to your blog to steal material, continuously judge, leave rude and mean comments, try to be sly, cyber bully, and is full of jealousy and deceit is a spam reader. They hold no real value and leave junk where ever they go! This is the reader who will try to bully you and talk mean because you want to Monetize YOUR blog! (I DIDN’T SAY IF THEY JUST DON’T AGREE WITH IT. I SAID THE READER WHO WILL BULLY OR TALK MEAN TO YOU FOR IT) That’s right. YOUR BLOG! Think about it. Who are they to tell you that you can’t Monetize your own site? That’s being controlling and that reader should not be tolerated! When you monetize,ย no money is coming directly out of the reader pocket, so their is no excuse for them to be rude. It’s absolutely fine for them to politely leave and vanish, that’s NOT a spammer, but don’t count them as an actual reader.

Loyal reader- This is the reader you want visiting your blog. This reader is the one who persistently read your material and find great value in your work. This reader won’tย always agree with your opinion or information, but will respect the fact that other’s opinion will not always match theirs. So, they will find no value in being rude, because they respect you as a person/writer/blogger. They also will find no need in leaving if you Monetize your blog. Why? Because they have found your blog to be useful, helpful, inspiring, interesting, and meaningful. They truly enjoy your writing and feel that you deserve the compensation. You can compare this to a Seattle Washington news article. ย There is a coffee shop that opened up in Seattle Washington and serves coffee for free. Their establishment looks just as nice as any Starbucks and serves good coffee. Why? This is what the owner had to say:ย 

ย He’s giving out free coffee to skim the froth off the high-end economy and spread it around a little. (Give quality service and coffee to those who can’t afford coffee daily.)

Peretz isn’t worried that people will abuse Terra Bite(coffe shop). There’s enough money to fund the honor system, and enough customers to honor, too, he said.

What does bother him is the prospect that customers might become cynical and think Terra Bite is just a gimmick, and that he’s insincere.ย (Amy Roe, Seattle Times)

I give you this example to say that your loyal readers will appreciate that you give out great content for free, and will desire to give you a tip by being accepting of you monetizing your blog. Why? Because they honor and respect your blog, and have no desire to abuse your generosity of free content. They’ll feel that you deserve a tip for your hard work and useful information/good read. Everyone loves free stuff, but it doesn’t mean you have to abuse the fact. Readers need to respect the fact that despite you being generous, you also have a life/ family/ bills like everyone else. And blogging takes time out of your life! ย The readers who leave hold no value to you and should not be counted as a reader. They will only stunt the growth of your blog and abuse your generosity. Your actual reader/ followers are the number count of people who are there with you during ALL of your blogging ventures!ย 

Don’t count those readers asย Missingย !๐Ÿ˜‰

My point for this post is the following:

  • Monetization can be a great source of income/ Career.ย 
  • But, it has a down side like everything else.
  • People who you thought were loyal readers weren’t after all.
  • Your readers will filter as your blogging venture progress.
  • Their are different categories of readers.
  • Spam readers hold no value.
  • Don’t let spammers stunt the growth of your blog.
  • What you want is passersbys and loyal readers.
  • Loyal readers will accept Monetization.
  • They will consider Monetization as a tip for your free contribution
  • Your “real” number of followers/ readers are revealed as your blog progress.ย 
  • Don’t let spammers abuse your generosity!ย 

Discussion- Do you agree with my post? Do you think people are abusing generosity when they get angry over monetizing? Let me know below๐Ÿ‘‡

If you found this useful you might also like:

Betcha! What is SEO?Find Out How SEO Is Crucial For Blog Traffic part 1

https://betchadidntknowthis.wordpress.com/2016/11/30/betcha-what-is-seofind-out-how-seo-is-crucial-for-blog-traffic/

50 Free Ways To Increase Your Twitter Followers

https://betchadidntknowthis.wordpress.com/2016/11/29/50-free-ways-to-increase-your-twitter-followers/

Don’t forget to do the daily prompt:ย Missing

Betcha didn’t know!๐Ÿ˜„

Info credit:

http://old.seattletimes.com/html/businesstechnology/2003558690_terrabite06e.html

Gif credit:

https://munashpi2011.wordpress.com/program/program-schedule/

Giphy.com

28 thoughts on “Betcha! Will I Loose Readers If I Monetize? Discover Why You Shouldn’t Care

  1. What are you up to?? lol I have a friend who wrote the most amazing things on his blog. Like minded people were so happy to have found someone who could voice what they were feeling. Then without saying anything he just monetized his blog. Did I unfollow him? No. But I don’t read the blog anymore because it’s not what I signed up to read. I am not against monetizing anything, except book reviews. I just want to hear what you’re doing and as long you keep putting great stuff out there I don’t see it as an issue. Go Forth and Profit!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmm….how did he monetize? It’s kind of scary how people feel about it. I think people should be able to run adds on their blog because it cost you the reader nothing. But it helps them. I’m not sure what you mean by ” what am I up to?” perhaps a figure of speech๐Ÿ˜•. I have a house full of children to tend to! That’s what I’m up to. Lol!๐Ÿ˜„ I’ll always hold you dear Patricia. I know you supported me through Homemakers United until now. I would never try to force money from you or anyone else๐Ÿ’—

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It really is just What are you up to? What he did was contact companies that he wanted stuff from and offer to blog about them on every social media outlet he has. The thing is for him it has backfired, he lost most of his readers. I don’t care about ads. If you have something interesting to show me or tell me I’m there! I’ll always be right here!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hmmm….. That wasn’t a good idea. If you start your blog on a particular niche, and that’s how you gained your following, you can’t turn around and become a pure advertiser. That was a bad move on his part. ๐Ÿ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Again I say each to there own, personally I would not pay to read someone’s blog unless it was a topic I was really interested in. If someone who I thought was a good friend on here suddenly said they wanted payment for what they wrote, then it would be very likely I would unfollow them. Sounds harsh, maybe. I can understand people needing to earn a living, I’ve had paid work for writing articles previously through other mediums. The way I reward great work is doing a reblog on my site which hopefully will give them a larger coverage. This is my personal opinion and again I say each to there own. ๐Ÿ™‚โค๏ธ๏ธ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree that you shouldn’t pay for someone’s work unless you were interested. My point is not that people should pay to read blogs, but people should be able to monetize their blog without backlash. Why? Because it costs you nothing as a reader for a blogger to have a couple of advertisements from various companies on their blog. You don’t have to click the adds if you don’t want. I’m saying you as a reader should accept them running adds if it doesn’t cost you. But it helps them๐Ÿ˜Š. Thanks for your feedback. I enjoy it๐Ÿ’—

      Like

      1. Oh! Hahaha! Hmm… Concerning that, I think it’s ok too. Still, they are only asking, it’s not mandatory. It’s purely an option for those who do have a desire to donate. But, if they had a paid prescription blog page, that’s rude and unnecessary!๐Ÿ˜’

        Liked by 1 person

      1. ๐Ÿšถโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿšถ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿšถโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿšถ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿšถโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿšถ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธOK I will shut up now lol ๐Ÿค

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the way you categorize the readers out there. I feel, rightly or wrongly, that the people who actually read my blog and comment are friends. They may not always agree but they want to see me succeed. The spam readers (I call them drive-bys since they look to shoot from safety) should mean nothing when it comes to monetizing a blog. They’ll hate everything anyway.
    This series is really helpful and I appreciate you taking time to help us all!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

