Do You like Posting Photos on Your Blog? Discover Some of the Risks You Could Be Taking

Hey neighbors!

Today’s topic will be safety issues when posting photos online. I told a fellow blogger I would do this post, so I am😄! In my previous post👇

https://betchadidntknowthis.wordpress.com/2016/12/05/discover-why-you-should-use-actual-photos-of-yourself-in-your-blog/

I mentioned that their could be safety hazards that can come with posting photos online. I believe their is good and bad consequences that come along with a lot of things we do. It’s not just with posting photos, but in life in general. So posting pictures online is no exception. I didn’t want to just say it can be  “dangerous” because who am I, right? Lol! That’s why I’m going to give you real life examples. The following information come from NYdailynews.com.

Stories of people’s online photos being used for nefarious purposes are easy to find: A soldier’s photo was stolen off MySpace, posted by scam artists under a fake Match.com account and used to con one woman out of thousands of dollars. One blogger found her family’s photo being used as an advertisement in the Czech Republic. Another mother’s photo of her 4-year-old was pulled off Flickr and posted on a Brazilian social networking site where it was rated for “sexiness.”The convenience of sharing photos with friends (and non-friends) through social networking sites and blogs is undeniable. Unfortunately, so are the dangers. Not only can photos be stolen and used by strangers, but many photos, especially those taken by phones or devices with GPS technology, contain tags that reveal exactly where the photos were snapped. In other words, if a parent takes a photo of his or her child playing at home and then posts it online, it’s possible for strangers to know exactly where they live.(kimberly Palmer/Nydailynews.com)

Does this sound scary? It does to me! But wait, I’ll give you percentages so you can make your OWN judgement on if this is something that concerns you.

b59d11590d094b8083775c5c29563d40
This graph shows the percentage of people who say this specific information about them is online.
52d60bda6b564e4eae0a49e4741bccb1
I thought it would be interesting to show the percentage of those who are concerned about privacy and not.
4cadef8182774e7ca3c1983584181078
This is the percentages of people who said they’ve had an bad online experience.

f1b73c789cd74242bf41e8c3b2bb05f7

  • 21% of internet users have had an email or social networking account compromised or taken over without their permission.
  • 12% have been stalked or harassed online.
  • 11% have had important personal information stolen such as their Social Security Number, credit card, or bank account information.
  • 6% have had their reputation damaged because of something that happened online.
  • 6% have been the victim of an online scam and lost money.
  • 4% have had something happen online that led them into physical danger.

BY , , AND

Soooo…….you can be the judge. But, these charts do prove that the problem do exist. Posting  pictures on your blog can bring life and a personal touch. But , like with everything else, it can come with consequences. That’s why we have to use smart judgement on what we post and don’t post. I wonder if it would be useful to protest against thieves😕. Anyway,

My points for this post is the following: 

  • Most things in life have good and bad consequences
  • Posting pictures online is no exception
  • The problem of theft do exist
  • You have to decide if it is a risk for you
  • Always try and make smart judgement

 Discussion- Do you post a lot of pictures online? Does this information concern you? Do you think safety should be a concern? Remember, there’s no reason to be rude. This is supposed to be a stimulating and fun conversation amongst us bloggers!😊 Reply in Comment Section below!👇

Also, if you found this helpful, you might also like: 

Betcha! People aren’t clicking my link! Apply these useful tactics to your thumbnail to get more traffic

https://betchadidntknowthis.wordpress.com/2016/11/18/betcha-people-arent-clicking-my-link-apply-these-useful-tactics-to-your-thumbnail-to-get-more-traffic/

Betcha! People aren’t reading my earlier post! Discover one powerful step that can boost your traffic

https://betchadidntknowthis.wordpress.com/2016/11/21/betcha-people-arent-reading-my-earlier-post-discover-one-powerful-step-that-can-boost-your-traffic/

Betcha didn’t know!😄

Don’t forget to do the daily prompt:
Protest

Info credit:

https://www.google.com/amp/www.nydailynews.com/amp/life-style/dangers-posting-photos-online-article-1.1432134

http://www.pewinternet.org/2013/09/05/anonymity-privacy-and-security-online/

24 thoughts on “Do You like Posting Photos on Your Blog? Discover Some of the Risks You Could Be Taking

  1. This is a great post! You’ve brought up some real concerns of mine. I’ve heard of being able to watermark your photos, but haven’t discovered how to do that yet. In this life we have to be extremely cautious and tread lightly. I’ve enjoyed checking out your blog here. Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If you never post any personal photos/info about yourself online, it’s STILL out there. While there are those who will steal it, there are also businesses making a killing selling it.

    For instance, Ancestry.com is a reputable business. They sent a promo ad to my PERSONAL email tracing my maternal family back four generations. Great, right? Only I, nor any family member we know of, is registered with them. So, why me? Why that email? How? 😕

    We just have to be more aware of the cyber world around us, and not take anything for granted.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Thank you for the quick reaction to my question, I am totally impressed by the post!

    When I read your post on the importance of using personal photos on my blog, I liked it because I started my blog as a way to promote my speaking career in future and I thought it will be wise if I use personal real life speaking photos in my post!

    I have been thinking of various ways I can post a photo and protect it from this hazzards, now that you have mentioned the problems, it will be more easier for me to such for ways to protect it because I am determined to using photos in my future post!

    I am very gratefull that you took your time to formulate this post!

    Thank thank you very much!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Let’s be sensible here! It’s an individual choice, I chose to have my photo on here because I believe it allows a better connection with my followers, I don’t give out my address or phone number (some do) although not always realising that it can be seen. I only post photos of family members if they are agreeable…… Then again how do we know that it is an actual photo of the blogger??? I could go on and on and on…. sometimes we have to trust and not let our imagination and fears run away with us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely agree it’s an individual choice. That’s why I say it’s two sides to the coin. On one side it makes your blog warm and inviting. On the other side of the coin, there is risk like with anything else in life. That’s why as individuals we have to use our OWN rule of thumb of what we consider safe😄. Thanks for your great feedback😊

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

