Discover Why You Should Use Actual Photos of Yourself In Your Blog!

Hey neighbors!

I know that a lot of people want to be able to just write great material and push publish, but it really takes a lot of work to get people to notice you. Last post I talked about how it’s important to narrow yourself down in a crowded platform. I guess you could say you are pretty much applying the SEO method to yourself. πŸ‘‡https://betchadidntknowthis.wordpress.com/2016/12/02/discover-an-effective-technique-that-will-draw-readers-attention/

One of the most important things you’ll have to remember is that readers/ people are very skeptical. People are full of curiosity and judgement. Sometimes it’s to be cruel and biased, and other times in hopes of that feeling of being able to relate. No matter what the agenda is, the curiosity never vanish. Did you know that people who share photos of themselves get more views?Whether it’s on your thumbnail or inserted on your blog post, people like to feel like they are communicating with real people. The more pictures you share of your life the better. Why? Because we as people like to feel the emotion of familiarity, relating, and being able to judge. The last one sound mean, but let’s keep it real, we all have judged someone beforeπŸ˜’. I’m sure you’re saying ,” But Betcha! If this is true, where is your picture?” I don’t have any because I’m not trying to attract as many readers as possible. I’m at the stage of blogging where I feel like you can take my information or leave it. I’m not trying to gain anybody trust. For now, I’m just doing this blog as a hobby. But, if I did want to form a relationship with my readers, my blog was a potential carrer, and I Β wanted you to feel more comfortable with the information that I put out, I would introduce myself with family photos and selfies. Let’s do a test!

How does these photos make you feel? If these were the only type of pictures a blogger shared, would it eventually get awkward? As much as mystery can be fun, you’ll still get plenty of people that will get tired of you hiding behind a curtain. People start to ask questions like why are you hiding, why should they trust your information when you don’t want to be seen, how do they know you are who you say you are, and what do you have to hide? If you give readers awkward emotions, they will a lot of times just flock to the bloggers that do make them comfortable. Now let’s look at bloggers who are revealing:

How does these pictures make you feel? Do you feel like you can relate in some sort of way? Are you already making assumptions on who they are as people? Are you using that to judge if their blog is valuable or not? When we see actual people, we feel like we can use that as also a clue of if their blog is interesting or not. The more you show of yourself and your life, the more comfortable people feel with you; no matter what your niche. But don’t forget, the more of your life you share, the more you put your safety at risk. Not everyone want to know because they mean well! In the comment section below, tell me if as a reader do you like to see actual photos of the blogger and their life. And if so why?Β 

My points for this post is the following:

  • You have to narrow yourself down in this platform.
  • Readers are skeptical of people they can’t see.
  • Β Readers eventually get tired of the mystery
  • Mystery makes some readers uncomfortable
  • It makes readers wonder if they can trust your information
  • Readers want to feel the emotion of being able to relate and familiarity.
  • People judge blogs value off of photos also.
  • The more photos of your life the better.
  • Sharing photos of your life comes with safety hazards!

If you found this helpful you might also like:πŸ‘‡

Betcha! Where is My Traffic? Discover the Easy Step You Could be Missing!

https://betchadidntknowthis.wordpress.com/2016/11/16/betcha-where-is-my-traffic-discover-the-easy-step-you-could-be-missing/

Betcha! People aren’t clicking my link! Apply these useful tactics to your thumbnail to get more traffic

https://betchadidntknowthis.wordpress.com/2016/11/18/betcha-people-arent-clicking-my-link-apply-these-useful-tactics-to-your-thumbnail-to-get-more-traffic/

Do the daily prompt:
Vanish

Betcha didn’t know!πŸ˜„

Photos from pixabay. I don’t own photos.

65 thoughts on “Discover Why You Should Use Actual Photos of Yourself In Your Blog!

  1. I think at first we can be a little shy, but as we spend more time visiting other blogs and seeing photos of those bloggers we begin to feel a little at ease. I have photos of me on my ‘about me’ page. I think it’s so important to come across as being friendly on your about me’ page. Just as important is to also give yourself a name that other bloggers and readers can call you. I use my real first name, but for those that don’t want to do that then I’d recommend giving yourself a name that visitors can refer to when leaving comments. Gone are my days of spending countless amounts of time trying to find out the name of a blogger.
    Great post, Betcha. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, I agree. Your about page is introducing yourself and you really want people to understand who you are as a blogger and what you have to offer. It can at times be a first impression. And a warm inviting first impression can go a long way. I never thought about the name aspectπŸ˜•. Great point! πŸ˜„

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I agree with Hugh. The first thing I actually check on a blog is the author’s name.

        I started off with the “Miss Fortitude” blog.. then I felt a bit weird with people calling me that so I went with my nickname Liz. It just feels more genuine.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Like your perspective too…however I also feel it totally depends on your blog theme and its requirements,,also personally I enjoy reading a blog for its contents rather than How a person looks or dresses up..that would be really appropriate for beauty/fashion bloggers and also we are already bombarded with that on facebook. Secondly I personally would nt like to share my children’s pics..peace of mind is worth everything.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hey domestic diva!πŸ˜„ I agree. If you aren’t doing a theme that has a lot to do with your life, You can mostly get away with it. Of course you’ll have those who are naturally curious and would like to know regardless of the themeπŸ˜’. But I say if staying anonymous gives a blogger piece of mind, I say the overly curious reader will just have to move on. Right? Lol! Thanks for stopping by!😊

      Liked by 2 people

      1. ya the curious reader can move on but sometimes with a lot of food for their thoughts, heart and mind maybe πŸ™‚ ..and sometimes mysteries take time to unravel too and therein lies their appeal and these are one of the perks of blogging too πŸ˜‰ ..Its my belief that blogging scratches more than the surface so either way it works..maybe or maybe not..although I do love lots of personal pictures too (nt necessarily of the face), it shows effort.. waiting to read more from you πŸ™‚ ❀

        Liked by 2 people

  3. That’s very true! I’ve never thought about it like that, but it does feel like you’re connecting on a more personal level with someone when they include pics or vids of themselves; you’re able to SEE the person and feel like you’re reading material written by an actual human, by someone you can relate to. I’ll have to think about ways to include some pics of myself in future posts. Thanks for the great post, I never really though about this until now!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Do pictures of pets count?

    I have one photo of me on my blog… on my button and it doesn’t show my photo. My Goodreads Author page has my photo drawn by my artist, sister. I try not to post photos of me myself because I want people to focus on the content and by knowing that I have two published works, shows that I have some knowledge when it comes to self publishing, writing novels, short stories, and novellas. Hhmm

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Interestingly.. As I was reading this.. I realize that books have at least one photo of the author at the back. Is that related to this post in any way?

      Although maybe there are some books that don’t have the author’s photo. I think.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Hmmm….If it’s a well known author, I would assume that they would probably have measures they have taken to protect themselves considering a lot of authors are very particular about copyright infringement. But…..on the other hand, you’ll always have an idiot who will attempt to steal anything. So, yes, It could go for authors too if it concerns them as an individualβ˜ΊπŸ˜„.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Hmmmm, I’ve almost always used photos, though now it just seems tedious and annoying because everyone is doing the Selfie thing except those who are too paranoid, too over it, or too shy. Yet, it depends on the type of blog what images or photos to use, if at all.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree, some blogs can probably get away with not having one. Like for example poets and story tellers. But if you have a blog talking about your life or rambling, more people will prefer pictures. And I agree that if you just do selfies, your pictures won’t get you anywhere. It’ll just get annoying. It’s important to have pictures that are relevant to your post and meaningful. 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Safety is a huge part of why i won’t include photos of myself or my kids.
    Yes, i have a personal facebook account with pictures on it, but I have NEVER uploaded my kids. i sound like someone who needs tin foil on their head, but i don’t really care. Our sites are monitored, our kids are watched, our movements are taken account for. I will not attach a photo and name to my kids. I don’t even use their names on my blog.
    I’m also just really into not sharing my personal stories and having close friends read it and know that it’s me writing. Sometimes, i think it’d be cool to share images, but I don’t want to. I like being anonymous. I like not being known somewhere. I like being the StepMomma in the sky. Maybe if I make it big and my blog isn’t a quiet, sort of secret thing that I do, I’ll upload photos of myself?

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hi there, I’m SO GLAD you have never uploaded your kids photos. Things are getting so wrong on the internet regarding fake news, and it seems so many don’t even care. So using kids pics for other purposes like fake photos…. something to really avoid. I’m sorry for those unconscious parents that they just want to show their kids in pics at all times, the show off aspect is bigger than the security and privacy ones.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. You are a responsible person, it is nice to show some images of children playing and so but I have seen photos that I would never upload, I even think when the kid will grow up he/she won’t like that their parents exposed them so freely on the internet. Hugs.

        Liked by 3 people

  7. I have tried numerous times to change my gravitar, but it will not change! It’ll say it has, but won’t show up in others comments. It will show up though if you visit my site. I haven’t given up, but while I keep failing at adding my picture I post a lot of myself and family on my blog πŸ˜‰ I love seeing others as well! Great advice!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I agree that it’s nice to see photos of real people. I, personally, worry some about safety though. Plus, part of why I blog is to write. But I enjoy other blogs and having visitors to my blog too… So when I do post photos of myself, it’s usually not a clear & simple head shot. I usually have part of my face obscured. But maybe that will change (or not).

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I like this post! but my question is, in your opinion, what are some of this safety issues you mentioned, please highlight some of them! Otherwise, The post is educative and intresting! Thank you!

    Like

  10. These are very good points! The safety hazard aspect …I keep thinking how significant is it? Now that virtual life is as real as the ‘real’ one …it is as a good as a chance of meeting with a road accident …what do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for asking πŸ™‚
        I am saying I know about the safety hazards …and that could be the only reason why one would stay away from posting personal pictures. I also wonder how much to worry about those hazards. We are on the virtual world as much as on the road. So are the chances of these safety hazards the same as meeting with a road accident …just fate?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh I see, thanks for clarifying that. Hmmm….I don’t know the percentages of it happening to “you” or “us”, but, I do know there are people who sit on their computer all day who hack, steal information, do identity theft, and steal pictures for their own purposes. They don’t even have to know you. It’s not even anything personal towards you, it’s just that they need your info for whatever shady business they are in. Ridiculous I know. But, it’s our world😳.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

