Want to move your blog forward? Find out the most important step to a successful niche

First before we even start, let’s be clear on what a niche exactly is. According to Merriam Webster’s learner’s dictionary, niche is defined as the following:

niche

noun \ˈnich also ˈnēsh or ˈnish\

Simple Definition of niche

  • : a job, activity, etc., that is very suitable for someone

  • : the situation in which a business’s products  Or services can succeed by being sold to a particular kind or group of people

    Source: Merriam-Webster’s Learner’s Dictionary

So Let’s cut to the chase. I’m going to give you my advice from the stand point of a reader because I’m not just a blogger, but a reader too. So you’ve already accomplished figuring out what your passion (niche) is, but you feel you’re not getting the attention you deserve. The solution to your problem is to stand out in your niche! Your great knowledge in your niche alone won’t strike readers interest. A reader has to find something special about your blog. You might be saying, it’s your blog and you’ll put whatever makes you happy. NOT! If you plan to make a career out of blogging , it’s about what the reader wants. And if they don’t get it, they’ll go elsewhere!  So let’s use someone who blogs about recipes as an example. WordPress has thousands of bloggers who create post about recipes. When I type in recipes, and the results display, I try to find something that’s going to catch my eye. As I scroll through the blogs, I see pictures and recipes that’s almost identical. I mostly see basic recipes for stuff I already know how to make. Everybody is telling me how to make basic spaghetti and meatballs. Apple pie you say? 20 bloggers already told me that recipe! I click in and right out of numerous blogs. But hey, wait a minute! As I scroll through, there was a blog that stopped me right in my tracks! The post is titled, “you’ve never had spaghetti with meatballs using this meat before! ” I’m already curious to know what’s so diffrent about theirs. Then they blow my mind telling me it’s made with deer meat! Despite the fact I don’t like deer meat, I keep reading out of curiosity. After that, I can’t wait to see what other stuff they have! As I look through, I’m amused by their great design, easy layout, and unique recipes! The other bloggers are put on the backburner for a rainy day. I know this sound harsh, but if you plan on making a career out of blogging, you have to stand out like a sore thumb! You have to ask yourself the question how will readers notice me?  So here is a summary of my points:
  • Get a niche
  • Be original
  • Try and stand out from the crowd
  • It’s about what the reader wants.

I hope this inspire someone out there! If you missed my post

What do betcha say? My advice on Seven steps to a successful blog

Here is the link👇

https://betchadidntknowthis.wordpress.com/2016/11/10/what-do-betcha-say-my-advice-on-seven-steps-to-a-successful-blog/

Also join in using the prompt Or

 

Betcha didn’t know!😄

2 thoughts on “Want to move your blog forward? Find out the most important step to a successful niche

Leave a Reply

